Short levers - a worthwhile upgrade??

Any General info on Mechanics based on 'all' bikes...

Moderator: Staff

Shooey
Learner Driver
First Name: Paul

Short levers - a worthwhile upgrade??

Post by Shooey »

Hi all.

I’m fairly new to all this and would like your advice!

I keep wanting to tinker with my bike, not spending stupid money but doing the ‘cheaper’ upgrades! Can’t leave the thing alone!!!

I’ve got a CBR600RR 08 and so far have upgraded the brake lines, put on some decent tyres, a full service, a bit of carbon fibre here and there and am now considering changing the levers to a short set as the originals look a bit clunky and dangley!

Is it worth changing the levers, apart from looks, are there any other advantages? What levers would you recommend?

What other upgrades are worth considering??

Thanks
Shooey
Ducaki
Learner Driver
First Name: Nige

Re: Short levers - a worthwhile upgrade??

Post by Ducaki »

Rear shock service for less than the price of a tire is worth every penny followed by a fork service. Give billinom8s a shout.
Pair valve removal is cheap and worth doing.
Caliper serviced is another one as a fluid change won't get all the old fluid and smeg out of the calipers as there lower than the bleed nipples.
Valve clearances.
I'd personally prefer to make sure what I already have is right.
ST4
DRZ400e
Jug
Learner Driver
First Name: Richard

Post by Jug »

I found the shorty levers that came on my bike to be uncomfortable so I bought the long lever version of them as they looked nice.
This (I think) is because I alternate between 2 and 3 finger clutch use, especially when in traffic.
The end of the shorty clutch lever started to dig into one of my fingers and got quite painful.
1190 Adventure S, 990 Superduke, DRZ-400E - all the bases covered.
Shooey
Learner Driver

Post by Shooey »

Ducaki wrote: May 29th, '18, 12:19 Rear shock service for less than the price of a tire is worth every penny followed by a fork service. Give billinom8s a shout.