Hearing protection

this is a place to list your places of recommended shops/dealers/sites/links etc. No banter please, just details and your experiences...

Moderator: Staff

Shooey
Learner Driver
First Name: Paul

Hearing protection

Post by Shooey »

Okay, so I've been riding for 2 years now and have tried 3 different forms of hearing protection (see below), well 4 if you include those foam things that just dont work in my ears. I started with Auritech Biker Hearing Protectors but found the fit a little weird but comfortable. The issue with these was, I wasn't sure that were actually offering any protection as the noise level was not reduced that much at all. I understand that the noise is filtered but I remain sceptical.

After doing a few track days and seeing lots of people with moulded ear protection I tried the R&G DIY Moulded Ear Plugs, a cheap alternative to the professionals! Whilst these are good, obviously the fit is great, although a little proud, which makes my ears sore when putting helmet on and taken it off repeatedly, like on track days. Also, there is no filter and noise levels are reduced too much. Intercom is pretty much out of the question.

So, after talking to a number of fellow SWB's, I learn the 'Honiton Hearing' offer a Low profile, filtered, moulded plug. You can even choose the colour! Whilst early days, the fit is great without being bulky, noise levels are reduced significantly but not to the levels where you can't hear anything! Putting your helmet on with the plugs in is not an issue due to the slim, sleek fit of the plug. Yet to try intercom but imagine this will be spot on due to the filter in the plug. Plugs come with a case and cleaner.

Here's the details of the 3 products.

Honiton Hearing

Low profile, filtered moulded plug £85.00

https://honiton-hearing.co.uk/services/ ... rotection/

MOTORCYCLING