Advice for short riders please

Introduce yourself and meet your fellow riders. Please don't forget to mention how you found us.
Niccihallas
Learner Driver
First Name: Nicci

Advice for short riders please

Post by Niccihallas »

Hi everyone. As a small female (5ft 3 and 65 kgs), I can only get one foot down properly which is fine on my little SV650S. I'm a novice rider and a while ago, I was riding with my dad. His bike got a puncture and although id never had anyone on the back, I needed to give him a lift home. Dad probably weighs twice my weight, but apart from being a little wobbly on the slow stuff, it was fine. So, yesterday my daughter wanted to come out for a little whizz around, I couldn't see a problem, however, I had to make an unscheduled stop due to some twat driving his car at me, traveling the wrong way down a road. I put my left foot down, but as I had to lean the bike over a little to plant, the added weight (around 70 kgs) of my daughter on the back was just too much for my one leg to hold the bike up - oops! No damage done, now it leaves me wondering how other vertically challenged riders do it? I'm guessing the extra weight of my dad pushed my bike lower, and so planting said foot was not a problem. My daughter's weight wasn't enough to do that which left me doing the usual of having to lean a little. My daughter wants to come out with me and so how can i do this safely? Is it just practice? Or is it just a case of its crazy to take someone on the back when u can't touch the floor properly and I shouldn't be trying?.........
billinom8s
Site Admin
First Name: simon

Re: Advise for short riders please

Post by billinom8s »

There's a few options really.

Get the seat shaved(lowered)
Soften the Suspension
Lower the Suspension
If all that fails

Platform boots.
don't forget we are onX and Instagrambelieve it or not !!!
southwestbikers@southwestbikers (original, I know.)
KTM 990 superduke R,
Zx10r trackbike, ktm 350 excf muddy