Track day tyre advice

Look in for Track days + events

Moderator: Staff

Grumpy Jase
Learner Driver
First Name: Jason

Track day tyre advice

Post by Grumpy Jase »

I thought I'd try and use some of your experience, as there are clearly a number of experienced track day riders on here. ^:)^ ^:)^

A bit about me, I'm relatively new to track days, still in the novice group, but likely to move up to inters soon. I ride a 99 R1, which I bought last winter, and came with 2 sets of wheels with choice of Pirelli Supercorsa SC1 dry tyres and Metzler rain tyres.

So far this year, I've done 1 wet day, which was good on wets, but these overheated massively on the last drying session of the day, and a couple of dry days, fine on the Supercorsas. For my last track adventure, this was a skills day, and there was no option for changing wheels between sessions. The weather looked like it would be mixed, and I'm left with the conundrum of try and ride in the wet on Supercorsas, or on a dry track on Rain tyres. Neither of these seemed a good idea, so ended up with using my road Tuono for the day, which worked well but kind of defeats the object of having a track bike.

So, after rambling for a bit, (-| I am thinking to change either wets or drys to a fast road tyre, which can handle both wet and dry track day to a reasonable extent. On the basis I'm still not very fast, I think the best option is to remove the Supsercorsas, and keep the wets for any full on wet days. What are people's thoughts of this, and what are suggestions for the "fast road tyre" options?

Jason
I'm not really grumpy, just misunderstood
:D :D
Bikes
2010 BMW K1300S
2006 Aprilia Tuono
2009 Benelli Tornado Tre RS
2001 Kawasaki ER5 (project)
1999 Yamaha R1 Track Bike
julesh
Learner Driver
First Name: julian

Re: Track day tyre advice

Post by julesh »